Mark Perez-Krywany

Sports Editor

On March 8, 2018, the OCCAC (Ohio Community College Athletic Conference) released their postseason awards for both men’s and women’s basketball, which includes multiple Commodores for Lorain County Community College being rewarded.

For the LCCC men’s basketball team, Commodores’ leading scorer and assist man Mike Rell (13.8 PPG, 3.0 APG) received OCCAC All-Conference Second Team. Daniel Lott, who is the second leading scorer averaging 11.3 PPG and Kevin Kelley did not make the cut on the Second Team, but they were honorably mentioned.

Along with the All-Conference Second Team, Rell was placed in the Division III All-District 11 Team with his teammate Lott.

Head coaches Marty Eggleston of the men’s team and Vince Granito of the women’s team did not comment, but Granito did congratulate Blakely and the Oehlstrom for being Honorable Mention OCCAC All-Conference.

“Congratulations to Angel Blakely and Hannah Oehlstrom for being named Honorable Mention OCCAC All-Conference,” Granito wrote via Twitter. “They both made First Team All-District as well!”

For the Lady Commodores, Angel Blakely was awarded the Player of the Year runner-up for District 11. She was not the only Commodore to make the cut. Commodores’ guard Hannah Oehlstrom made the All-District 11 Team. Neither made any of the two All-Conference teams, but they were honorably mentioned. Blakely and Oehlstrom were the top two leading scorers for the Commodores as Blakely averaged 18.7 PPG and Oehlstrom with 14.6 PPG.

Both basketball teams advanced to the Region XII Championship on February 27, 2018 where they both lost to rivals Columbus State Community College with Division III District 11 Player of the Year Mario Young and the runner-up Chris Byrd for their men’s team and women’s District Player of the Year Destiny Wooten. The men’s team lost 90-75 and the women’s team lost 94-88.